The man who never looked up

«I do this thing all the time, when passing through places I’m unaware I’ve been before, when I suddenly stop what I am doing, look up and down a stretch of road, and say to whomever I am with, ‘I have raced my bike down here.’

It happens all the time, all over the world, and I imagine if you spend a lot of time with me it must get pretty boring. I raced internationally for nearly twenty years, and when you think about it, that is a lot of hills, a lot of corners, and a lot of tarmac. I still recognize them, more often than not, as if the intense focus that I put into my racing career burned these stretches of road like scars in my mind.

But the strange thing about it isn’t so much that the roads are so familiar, it is the fact that everything else surrounding the roads – the locations, the names of the towns, the villages, the views don’t even exist in my mind. I am the man who never looked up, or around, or anywhere but at the road ahead.

Then there was the Rapha Continental, in Yorkshire.»

conti-yorks-map

more : http://pages.rapha.cc/rides/yorkshire

Φέτος μαζί με τους αγαπημένους φίλους Τάκη Δρ.και Ηλία Τσ. θα κάνουμε πολλά, μα πολλά brevets. Πέρυσι κάναμε γύρους των 140 μέχρι 200 χιλιομέτρων, μαγικούς που δεν έχουν να ζηλέψουν τίποτε από τους γύρους της rapha, τηρουμένων των αναλογιών. Ανάβαση στο Βίτσι με επιστροφή από Πισοδέρι , ανάβαση Κλεισούρας με εκκίνηση πάλι από Κοζάνη, άφιξη Καστοριά και επιστροφή μέσω ΠΕΟ. Ανάβαση Βλάστης, ανάβαση Νυμφαίου, γύροι Καμβουνίων, γύρο Νάουσας,υπέροχες στιγμές. Ελπίζω φέτος να κάνουμε γύρους πλέον των 200 χιλιομέτρων ο καθένας. Αυτό εύχομαι…

Σχολιάστε

