My real name is Israel Beilin

My real name is Israel Beilin. My father Was a Roman slave who gained his freedom. I was first named Ralph Waldo Ellison
but I changed it to the name of one of your cities Because I was born a Jew in Byelorussia.
I sit with Shakespeare and he winces not.
My other name is Flaccus. I wrote an essay On the theme, You Choose Your Ancestors. It won’t be any feeble, conventional wings
I’ll rise onnot I, born of poor parents. Look, even now the skin around my ankles
Has been transformed and I am growing wings.
Across the color line I summon Aurelius And Aristotle: threading through Philistine And Amalekite they come, quite graciously
And without condescension. I took the name Irving or Caesar or Creole Jack. Some day
They’ll study me in Hungary, and L.A., so
Spare me your needless tribute. Spare me the red Hideousness of Georgia. I wrote your White Christmas for you. My third name, Burghardt,
Is Dutch, and for all you know I am related to Spinoza, Walcott, Pissarro—and in fact my
Grandfather Burghardt’s first name was Othello.

Πηγή : http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2015/02/09/chorus-3

Σχολιάστε

